top of page

KORN Recycling relies on innovative technology from WeSort.AI for fire prevention

IMG_7686.HEIC
IMG_5035.HEIC

Albstadt, Germany - KORN Recycling, a leading medium-sized recycling company based in Albstadt, has invested in ground-breaking technology to improve safety and prevent fires at its commercial waste sorting facility. The recent investment in the installation of the 'BatterySort' system, developed by WeSort.AI, marks a crucial step in the prevention of fires caused by hazardous materials such as lithium-ion batteries, a growing and dangerous problem across the recycling industry.

korn_logo.gif

The collaboration with WeSort.AI, a specialist in AI-supported safety and sorting solutions for waste sorting systems, emphasises KORN Recycling's commitment to advanced and sustainable recycling processes. The innovative "BatterySort" system uses advanced X-ray transmission technology and a specially developed deep learning algorithm to precisely identify contaminants such as batteries and rechargeable batteries in waste layers up to a depth of 50 cm.

 

"Our plant has already experienced several fires in the past, mostly caused by incorrectly disposed lithium-ion batteries. With 'BatterySort' from WeSort.AI, we can now recognise potential sources of danger at an early stage and sort them out before they lead to a fire," explains Alexander Korn, Managing Director of KORN Recycling. The system not only ensures increased protection against fires, but also enables the recovery of valuable materials such as lithium, precious metals and rare earths from batteries and electrical appliances.

IMG_3377_fade-sw_low.jpg
image_19_10_2023_11_37_41-2.png

The current recognition accuracy of the system is over 85 per cent, with the aim of achieving an accuracy of up to 95 per cent through continuous improvements and extensions to the data set. "Our AI and data sets are constantly being further developed. Thanks to the novel self-learning deep learning algorithm, we are significantly reducing the annotation effort and making deep learning useful for this application for the first time," adds Nathanael Laier, Managing Director of WeSort.AI.

The recognised batteries and other impurities are blown out of the waste layer by powerful air pressure nozzles and fed onto a conveyor belt, which transports them into fireproof containers. There they are sorted by hand for further treatment, which also helps to protect the environment and conserve resources.

 

The investment in the project demonstrates KORN Recycling's pioneering role in the field of safe and environmentally friendly recycling. Together with WeSort.AI, the company is setting new standards in waste management and demonstrating how the use of state-of-the-art technology enables a safe and efficient recycling process.

IMG_7691.HEIC
HG-Verlauf_sw-blau.png

For more information about the system, visit our product website.

image_07_03_2023_13_52_44_edited.jpg

KONTAKT

If you also want to improve your plant safety and sorting purity in the plant, then contact us now.

Gruppe_1_edited.jpg
home-0009ea4.png
phone-call-0009ea4.png
email-0009ea4.png

WeSort.AI GmbH

Leighton Street 3

97074 Würzburg ​

+49 931 73047390

 

contact@wesort.ai

Contact form

Thank you for the message! We will respond shortly.

bottom of page

top of page

KORN Recycling setzt auf innovative Technologie von WeSort.AI zur Brandprävention 

IMG_7686.HEIC
IMG_5035.HEIC

Albstadt, Deutschland – KORN Recycling, ein führendes mittelständisches Recyclingunternehmen mit Sitz in Albstadt, hat in eine bahnbrechende Technologie investiert, um die Sicherheit in ihrer Gewerbeabfallsortieranlage zu erhöhen und Brände zu verhindern. Die jüngste Investition in den Einbau des von WeSort.AI entwickelten "BatterySort"-Systems, markiert einen entscheidenden Schritt in der Verhinderung von durch Gefahrenstoffe wie Lithium-Ionen-Akkus ausgelösten Brände, einem wachsenden und gefährlichen Problem in der gesamten Recyclingbranche. 

korn_logo.gif

Die Zusammenarbeit mit WeSort.AI, einem Spezialisten für KI-gestützte Sicherheits- sowie Sortierlösungen für Abfallsortieranlagen, unterstreicht KORN Recyclings Engagement für fortschrittliche und nachhaltige Recyclingprozesse. Das innovative "BatterySort"-System nutzt fortschrittliche Röntgentransmissionstechnologie und einen speziell entwickelten Deep-Learning-Algorithmus, um Störstoffe wie Batterien und Akkus in Abfallschichten bis zu einer Tiefe von 50 cm präzise zu identifizieren. 

"Unsere Anlage hat in der Vergangenheit bereits mehrere Brände erlebt, meist ausgelöst durch falsch entsorgte Lithium-Ionen-Akkus. Mit 'BatterySort' von WeSort.AI können wir nun potenzielle Gefahrenquellen frühzeitig erkennen und aussortieren, bevor sie zu einem Brand führen", erklärt der Geschäftsführer von KORN Recycling, Alexander Korn. Das System gewährleistet nicht nur einen erhöhten Schutz vor Bränden, sondern ermöglicht auch die Rückgewinnung wertvoller Materialien wie Lithium, Edelmetalle und seltene Erden aus den Akkus und Elektrogeräten. 

IMG_3377_fade-sw_low.jpg
image_19_10_2023_11_37_41-2.png

Die aktuelle Erkennungsgenauigkeit des Systems liegt bei über 85 Prozent, mit dem Ziel, durch kontinuierliche Verbesserungen und Erweiterungen des Datensatzes eine Genauigkeit von bis zu 95 Prozent zu erreichen. "Unsere KI und Datensätze werden stetig weiterentwickelt. Dank des neuartigen selbstlernenden Deep-Learning-Algorithmus reduzieren wir den Annotationsaufwand erheblich und machen Deep Learning erstmals sinnvoll für diese Anwendung nutzbar", fügt Nathanael Laier, Geschäftsführer von WeSort.AI, hinzu. 

Die erkannten Akkus und andere Störstoffe werden durch starke Luftdruckdüsen aus der Abfallschicht geblasen und auf ein Förderband geleitet, das sie in feuerfeste Container transportiert. Dort werden sie zur weiteren Behandlung händisch nachsortiert, wodurch zusätzlich ein Beitrag zum Umweltschutz und Ressourcenschonung geleistet wird. 

Die Investition in das Projekt demonstriert KORN Recyclings Vorreiterrolle im Bereich des sicheren und umweltfreundlichen Recyclings. Gemeinsam mit WeSort.AI setzt das Unternehmen neue Maßstäbe in der Abfallwirtschaft und zeigt, wie durch den Einsatz modernster Technologie ein sicherer und effizienter Recyclingprozess ermöglicht wird. 

IMG_7691.HEIC
HG-Verlauf_sw-blau.png

Für mehr Informationen zum System, besuchen Sie unsere Produktwebsite.

image_07_03_2023_13_52_44_edited.jpg

KONTAKT

Wenn auch Sie Ihre Anlagensicherheit und Ihre Sortierreinheit in der Anlage verbessern wollen, dann kontaktieren Sie uns jetzt. 

Gruppe_1_edited.jpg
zuhause-0009ea4.png
phone-call-0009ea4.png
email-0009ea4.png

WeSort.AI GmbH

Leightonstraße 3

97074 Würzburg ​

+49 931 73047390

 

contact@wesort.ai

Kontaktformular

Vielen Dank für die Nachricht! Wir melden uns in Kürze.

bottom of page