top of page

How Electrocycling GmbH manages to identify and sort out batteries and old appliances containing batteries as well as harmful and contaminating materials when processing electronic waste.

The WeSort.Al technology analyzes the incoming e-waste, increases the sorting purity for the subsequent treatment processes and thus prevents potential fires caused by overlooked lithium batteries. 

news-slide01.jpg

With a processing rate of up to 80,000 tons per year, Electrocycling GmbH is one of the largest recycling companies for waste electrical and electronic equipment in Europe. For more than 30 years now, Electrocycling, based in the district of Goslar, has been recycling old electrical appliances and producing high-quality secondary raw materials. 

HG-Verlauf_sw-blau.png

"The waste delivered often contains batteries or materials that are harmful to the environment. If we overlook these during manual pre-sorting, this can result in contamination or fires in the later processes."

-Kai Kramer

csm_Ansprechpartner-Kramer_3be0a86ee9_edited.jpg

PROBLEM

■ SOLUTION: FIRST STEP

Before the recovery and recycling steps, the old appliances delivered from private households and municipal collections must be sorted. This sorting is carried out manually on a sorting belt by up to 8 employees per shift. Components and appliances containing harmful substances such as batteries, fluorescent tubes, smoke detectors, capacitors, mercury, etc. are sorted out. In addition, contaminants and waste consisting of commercial waste, wood, textiles, glass or ceramics are removed. 

 

Electrocycling GmbH uses the WeSort.Al analysis module for optimum identification of the materials and analysis of the material flows. The module was installed at the very beginning of the manual pre-sorting process and uses AI algorithms to recognize a wide range of material classes and display these findings in real time on a dashboard. This makes it possible to continuously monitor the material flow through the system.

 

The core component of the system is the AI sensor unit, which combines near-infrared (NIR) technology and digital camera systems. By using deep learning for object recognition, materials and objects can be identified with high precision. The sensor unit serves as a central interface for the analysis, sorting, control, optimization and monitoring of the sorting process. It is characterized by cost-efficient hardware, simple installation and its effectiveness in various applications. 

 

The underlying AI software of WeSort.AI, based on deep learning for object recognition, supports the creation of dashboards for uncomplicated real-time monitoring of material flows. Customizable alerts provide immediate information about malfunctions, potential hazards and unusual events. 

 

Devices and materials that are reliably identified by the system include Batteries and battery-containing devices such as tools, small household appliances, smoke detectors, hygiene devices, transponders, measuring devices, heat meters, etc. as well as metals, plastics, textiles, wood and glass. 

IMG_20220302_180804.jpg
90812.JPEG
Bildschirmfoto 2023-06-23 um 13.49.42.png
90793.JPEG
HG-Verlauf_sw-blau.png
csm_Ansprechpartner-Kramer_3be0a86ee9_edited.jpg

"The AI system from WeSort.Al can also reliably detect hidden or built-in hazardous components such as batteries. It helps us to better understand what is running through our system and increases our system safety."

-Kai Kramer

■ SOLUTION: SECOND STEP

In addition, the material flow is analyzed by an analysis module at the end of the sorting line. This module serves as an efficient warning system that precisely identifies which potential contaminants and impurities may have been overlooked in the first sorting phase, i.e. manual pre-sorting. If such substances are detected, the system immediately triggers an alarm to enable subsequent separation. The system also provides the shift supervisor with continuous updates on the quality of the sorting. Particularly critical materials such as batteries, which pose a high fire risk, can be reliably identified, significantly increasing safety.

 

Furthermore, the aim is to find an automated sorting solution for e-waste in order to ensure effective re-sorting of the identified objects. The modular system from WeSort.AI offers an excellent opportunity to expand the analysis module with a highly effective sorting bar. This pneumatically operated air pressure nozzle bar can be easily and cost-effectively integrated into existing systems and can be flexibly installed at the outfeed of conveyor belts at speeds of up to 4 m/s. 

IMG_5510 Kopie_korr.jpg
Bildschirmfoto 2024-04-04 um 13.58.53.png
IMG_6409 2_korr-mit-Akku.jpg

76 % increased safety

50% purer sorting

Annual EBIT increase of over 600 thousand euros

HG-Verlauf_sw-blau.png

 

"The aim of further joint collaboration is to fully automate manual pre-sorting."

-Nathanael Laier

nathanael_laier_002.jpg

CONTACT

If you also want to improve your plant safety and sorting purity in the plant, then contact us now.

Gruppe_1_edited.jpg
home-0009ea4.png
phone-call-0009ea4.png
email-0009ea4.png

WeSort.AI GmbH

Leighton Street 3

97074 Würzburg ​

+49 931 73047390

 

contact@wesort.ai

Contact form

Thank you for the message! We will respond shortly.

bottom of page

top of page

Wie die Electrocycling GmbH es schafft Batterien und batteriehaltige Altgeräte sowie Schad- und Störstoffe bei der Verarbeitung von Elektroschrott zu erkennen und auszusortieren.

Die WeSort.Al Technologie analysiert den eingehenden Elektroschrott, steigert die Sortenreinheit für die nachfolgenden Aufbereitungsprozesse und verhindert damit mögliche Brände die durch übersehene Lithiumbatterien entstehen können. 

news-slide01.jpg

Mit einer Verarbeitungsrate von bis zu 80.000 Tonnen pro Jahr, ist die Electrocycling GmbH eines der größten Recyclingunternehmen für Elektroaltgeräte in Europa. Seit nun mehr als 30 Jahren werden bei Electrocycling, mit Sitz im Landkreis Goslar, Elektroaltgräte recycelt und hochwertige Sekundärrohstoffe erzeugt. 

HG-Verlauf_sw-blau.png

„Die angelieferten Abfälle enthalten oft Batterien oder umweltschädliche Materialien. Wenn wir diese bei der händischen Vorsortierung übersehen, können Kontaminationen oder Brände in den nachfolgenden Prozessen die Folge sein”

-Kai Kramer

csm_Ansprechpartner-Kramer_3be0a86ee9_ed

PROBLEM

LÖSUNG: ERSTER SCHRITT

Vor den Verwertungs- und Recyclingschritten müssen die, aus privaten Haushalten und kommunalen Sammlungen, angelieferten Altgeräte sortiert werden. Diese Sortierung wird an einem Sortierband manuell von bis zu 8 Mitarbeitenden pro Schicht durchgeführt. Dabei werden schadstoffhaltige Bauteile und Geräte wie Batterien, Leuchtstoffröhren, Rauchmelder, Kondensatoren, Quecksilber usw. aussortiert. Weiterhin werden Störstoffe und Fehlwürfe bestehend aus Gewerbeabfall, Holz, Textilien, Glas oder Keramik entfernt. 

Für die optimale Erkennung der Materialien und die Analyse der Stoffströme wird bei der Electrocycling GmbH das Analysemodul von WeSort.Al eingesetzt. Das Modul wurde ganz vorn im Prozess der händischen Vorsortierung eingebaut und nutzt KI-Algorithmen um ein weites Spektrum an Materialklassen zu erkennen und diese Erkenntnisse in Echtzeit auf einem Dashboard darzustellen. Dies ermöglicht es den Materialfluss durch die Anlage kontinuierlich zu überwachen.

Die Kernkomponente des Systems bildet die KI-Sensoreinheit, welche Near-Infrared (NIR) Technologie und digitale Kamerasysteme vereint. Durch den Einsatz von Deep Learning zur Objekterkennung können Materialien und Objekte mit hoher Präzision identifiziert werden. Die Sensoreinheit dient als zentrale Schnittstelle für die Analyse, Sortierung, Steuerung, Optimierung und Überwachung des Sortierprozesses. Sie zeichnet sich durch kosteneffiziente Hardware, einfache Installation und ihre Effektivität in verschiedenen Anwendungsfällen aus. 

Die zugrundeliegende KI-Software von WeSort.AI, basierend auf Deep Learning für die Objekterkennung, unterstützt die Erstellung von Dashboards für eine unkomplizierte Echtzeitüberwachung der Stoffströme. Individuell anpassbare Warnmeldungen informieren umgehend über Störungen, potenzielle Gefahren und ungewöhnliche Ereignisse. 

Zu den Geräten und Materialen die durch das System zuverlässig identifiziert werden gehören unter anderem: Batterien und batteriehaltige Geräte wie Werkzeuge, Haushaltskleingeräte, Rauchmelder, Hygienegeräte, Transponder, Messgeräte, Wärmemengenzähler, etc. aber auch Metalle, Kunststoffe Textilien, Holz oder Glas. 

IMG_20220302_180804.jpg
90812.JPEG
Bildschirmfoto 2023-06-23 um 13.49.42.png
90793.JPEG
HG-Verlauf_sw-blau.png
csm_Ansprechpartner-Kramer_3be0a86ee9_ed

“Das KI System von WeSort.Al kann auch verdeckte oder eingebaute gefährliche Bestandteile wie Batterien zuverlässig erkennen. Es hilft uns besser zu verstehen was durch unsere Anlage läuft und erhöht unsere Anlagensicherheit.”

-Kai Kramer

LÖSUNG: ZWEITER SCHRITT

Zusätzlich wird am Ende der Sortierstrecke der Stoffstrom durch ein Analysemodul analysiert. Dieses Modul dient als effizientes Warnsystem, das präzise identifiziert, welche potenziellen Schad- und Störstoffe in der ersten Sortierphase, also der händischen Vorsortierung, möglicherweise übersehen wurden. Bei Erkennung solcher Stoffe löst das System umgehend einen Alarm aus, um eine nachträgliche Separierung zu ermöglichen. Darüber hinaus bietet das System dem Schichtleiter kontinuierliche Updates zur Qualität der Sortierung. Besonders kritische Stoffe wie Batterien, die ein hohes Brandrisiko darstellen, können zuverlässig identifiziert werden, wodurch die Sicherheit signifikant erhöht wird.

Weiterhin geht es darum eine automatisierte Sortierlösung für Elektroschrott zu finden, um eine effektive Nachsortierung der identifizierten Objekte zu gewährleisten. Das Modulare System von WeSort.AI bietet eine hervorragende Möglichkeit, das Analysemodul um eine hocheffektive Sortierleiste zu erweitern. Diese pneumatisch betriebene Luftdruckdüsenleiste lässt sich problemlos und kosteneffizient in bestehende Anlagen einfügen und kann flexibel am Auslauf von Förderbändern bei Geschwindigkeiten von bis zu 4 m/s installiert werden. 

IMG_5510 Kopie_korr.jpg
Bildschirmfoto 2024-04-04 um 13.58.53.png
IMG_6409 2_korr-mit-Akku.jpg

76 % erhöhte Sicherheit

50% reinere Sortierung

Jährliche EBIT Steigerung von über 600 Tausend Euro

HG-Verlauf_sw-blau.png

“Das Ziel der weiteren gemeinsamen Zusammenarbeit ist es die händische Vorsortierung vollständig zu automatisieren.”

-Nathanael Laier

nathanael_laier_002.jpg

KONTAKT

Wenn auch Sie Ihre Anlagensicherheit und Ihre Sortierreinheit in der Anlage verbessern wollen, dann kontaktieren Sie uns jetzt. 

Gruppe_1_edited.jpg
zuhause-0009ea4.png
phone-call-0009ea4.png
email-0009ea4.png

WeSort.AI GmbH

Leightonstraße 3

97074 Würzburg ​

+49 931 73047390

 

contact@wesort.ai

Kontaktformular

Vielen Dank für die Nachricht! Wir melden uns in Kürze.

bottom of page